emeraldowl

Weekly Boozer: Bourbon Slushes

In Uncategorized, Weekly Boozer on May 22, 2011 at 6:06 pm

When I think of certain people they remind me of certain drinks. Maybe it is their personality. Or because of a fond memory shared with them. Possibly it is their favorite libation or the only one they are willing to consume. Sometimes it is because they wrote the recipe or it is a family tradition. This is Amy’s drink – Bourbon Slushes. I think of her anytime I hear about or drink this cocktail and vice versa. Don’t under-estimate this drink, a picture could never do it justice!!

Bourbon Slushes

3 cups bourbon, cheap (I hesitated, but took her advice… after all it is “her” drink!)
3 cups sugar
6 tsps instant tea, unsweetened 
1 container orange juice concentrate, plus 4 of water
1 container lemonade concentrate, plus 4 of water
 
lemon-lime soda, chilled (diet if you prefer)

Directions: In a very large bowl combine: bourbon (we used Evan Williams), sugar and tea granules. Mix well until most of the sugar and tea has dissolved (you don’t want clumps of instant tea or sugar – bleck!); Stir in concentrates and water and pour into containers to freeze. I used a large bowl with a lid, but if you want slushes faster you could use ice-cube trays or smaller Tupperware. Freeze (takes about 6-8 hours). Remove desired amount from freezer and stir with a fork to create slush; fill glasses 2/3 to 3/4 full and then top with lemon-lime soda. Drink up 😀

These are sweet, sour, tangy and very cool. Perfect for the summer, a BBQ or any type of party because it makes quite a bit. P.S. I think the cheap sour mash bourbon really gives it a key part of the flavor. Amy says they almost always use cheap because you are freezing it. All I know is I love bourbon slushes – they remind me of my dear friend.

Leave a comment