emeraldowl

Caramel Apple Cookies

In Baking, Uncategorized on May 17, 2011 at 5:46 pm

I woke up this morning and knew I would make cookies. Not what kind or why, just that it was going to be apart of my next 24 hours. It’s a good feeling, like when you eat Oreo’s for breakfast and breakfast for dinner. Anyways, back to the point I made caramel apple cookies. Why? I’m packing. Packing = finding things, getting rid of things and etc.  I had an open packaging of caramel bits and that lead to the hunt for other open items. (That is when I found dried apples and decided to give this a go!) See I am on the mover’s diet. I am trying to use up what is in my fridge and other items, like these, which I have no desire to pack and un-pack. My grocery trips are weird. People look and wonder. That’s okay, because I get to eat cookies. Cookies that taste like pie!!!

Caramel Apple Cookies

  • 3/4 cup all-Vegetable Shortening
  • 1 1/4 cups firmly packed light brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 3/4 cups all Purpose Flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup dried apple, chopped
  • 1/2 cup caramel bits

Directions: Pre-heat oven to 350ºF. Mix shortening, brown sugar and vanilla in large bowl. Beat at medium speed of electric mixer until well blended. Beat in egg. Combine flour, salt and baking soda. Mix into shortening mixture until just blended. Stir in chopped apple and caramel bits. Drop by rounded measuring tablespoonfuls onto ungreased baking sheet. Bake 8 to 10 minutes (bake longer if you like crisp cookies) and transfer to cooling rack.

Oh my – if you threw in some apple pie spice or even just cinnamon you would have a slice of apple pie in a cookie. The bits of apple that a peeking out of the dough get browned giving them a slightly crisp, slightly chewy texture and amazing flavor. Plus they are easy as pie, well actually 10x easier than making pie!

  1. what a brilliant idea and so well written – i’m going to make some for my company coming down from Nebraska!!! Who doesn’t like apple pie.

Leave a Reply

