emeraldowl

Weekly Boozer: Shiner Ruby Redbird

In Uncategorized on May 15, 2011 at 9:20 pm

Ruby Redbird is Shiner’s newest seasonal beer designed for summer.  It is brewed with grapefruit and ginger.

The ginger is what really got me excited about this brew. Well and unlike most I LOVE grapefruit. Unfortunately I found the ginger to be subtle and really not noticeable until the finish. Which is still delightful, just not as prominent as I had hoped.  The contrast is perfect though – I will definitely be cooking something up with grapefruit and ginger in the near future. I also look forward to cooking chicken on the grill with the beer itself. Back to it: you can smell the citrus and grapefruit aroma off the bat! Very refreshing, crisp and slightly tart – as good grapefruit should be. Only the slightest hint of bitterness. Little to no head on the pour; which dissipated quickly. Beautiful red-orange amber color!! Overall I would buy this beer again, but it is not something I would want to drink a plethora of in one evening.  I will be interested to see if any non-grapefruit eaters will find anything for them in this brew. I would be surprised, as the grapefruit really sings through on multiple levels; but, beer has a way of bringing people, things and new experiences together.

Oh and I am smitten with the name! Ruby Redbird. So rockabilly and almost vintage. Definitely a bright and sassy name for this new summer brew. Enjoy!

  1. I have this in my fridge and have been looking forward to trying it. Besides loving Shiner, I was also drawn to the cute, vintage, roadside-y name!

Leave a Reply

