emeraldowl

Crochet: My First Afghan

In Crafts, Crochet, Uncategorized on April 13, 2011 at 8:36 pm

It’s like crafting steps. There was my first crochet project, my first scarf, my first gift… now my first afghan. It may seem weird to some to be excited about it, but I taught myself to crochet – so I’m kinda thrilled!

As a blanket it’s not real functional. It is heavy and probably warm to a point, because it is made with a bulky weight wool yarn.  But, it has lots of holes. Lots. They add character instead of warmth. Me likey.

This is made with Lion Brand yarn: Wool Ease Thick & Quick. (Once, my husband was helping me look for it… he said what’s it called? Fast & Fat? – close enough! ;))  It is also a Lion Brand yarn pattern – I substituted out two colors.  The bright blue just wasn’t working for me and the purple was way to dark. Originally I loved it.  Then when faced with the actual purchase of the yarn, I couldn’t shake that you are making a mistake feeling.  So I picked a fig color and crimson red – I love how it turned out.  Other than a couple of color changes I followed their instructions to the letter and it was very easy and came together surprisingly quick! I would recommend this as a beginner project and as a lovely gift!

Now I need this display (Link) from Urban Outfitters so I can properly show it off in my bedroom or maybe the entry and I can use the top for hats and scarves…

  1. Well, I’m very proud of what you’ve accomplished! I know how hard it is to learn something like this and to teach yourself!!!! Wow, I’m impressed to say the least. My daughter-in-law – I’m proud of you honey.

  2. I’m really proud of you. The throw is beautiful and the colors are awesome. Love your blog. It’s good to know you are out there doing something fun. Have a beautiful Easter. Love to you and Trevor. Give him a hug from his grandmother.

    Blessings,

Leave a Reply

