emeraldowl

Jalapeño Popper Grilled Cheese

In Cooking, Uncategorized on April 11, 2011 at 10:08 pm

Dear sandwich, I miss you.  Your destruction was not meaningless.

I don’t know about you or your family, but mine loves to make stuffed peppers when they grill.  You know stuff them with cream cheese, roll them in bacon and grill.  They are delicious.  Sometimes it is the only thing my Mema (Texan for Grandma) will eat.  She hoards the ones that are left. She eats them for breakfast.  This is one of many reasons I love her.  This sammy, grilled cheese, sandwich… is a play on those peppers. It’s real REAL good – you should try it.

Jalapeño Popper Grilled Cheese

  • 2 jalapeño peppers, cut in half lengthwise (remove seeds for more mild peppers)
  • 2 slices good bread
  • 2  Tbsp butter, room temperature
  • 2-3 Tbsp whipped cream cheese, room temperature
  • 4-5 slices of bacon cooked (we used Nueske’s = magical)

Directions: Cook bacon as desired and drain on paper towel.  Meanwhile either throw your peppers on the grill (or if you are not currently grilling place the peppers on a backing sheet cut side down and broil in oven on top shelf) until skin has blackened, about 10-14 minutes.   Place the peppers in sealable container (zip-lock…), seal and let them cool until you can handle, about 20 minutes.  Once cooled peel the skin off and slice up.  Do not wash with water it will strip the flavor.

Butter both sides of your bread and cook on a hot griddle (pan… etc.); once first side is toasted assemble sandwich (on toasted side) with a layer of cream cheese,  peppers and on one piece a healthy serving of bacon, put sandwich.  Grill remaining sides of bread until golden brown and cheese is melted. Devour. Repeat if necessary.

We used Nueske’s original bacon which is smoked with applewood.  It is so smoky you could forego cooking the peppers on the grill and still get that distinct flavor that makes grilled bacon jalapeños so good. I highly recommend this sandwich and I fully endorse Nueske’s. They didn’t pay me to say that they have some of the most amazing bacon in world.  They probably don’t care that I think that, but it is true. You should try it. Thank me later. EO

  1. This sounds awesome. As one of 3 people who have tried both my bacon and Nueske’s – what do you think? It was, in my mind, the bacon to aspire to. I didn’t expect to come close to it, but homemade bacon is pretty fantastic.

    • Yes your bacon was fantastic. I would say Nueske’s is much more smoky, but yours was better seasoned. I particularly like the sage-iness! Homemade bacon is definitely better than the majority of bacon’s at the grocer fo sho! They have a cherry wood smoked bacon too! I really want to try it 🙂

  2. I’m going to give this sandwich a try with the bacon I happen to have in the fridge. I just bought a half-dozen nice big jalapenos a few days ago. They’re going in the toaster oven as soon as I send this comment.

  3. […] out one of the postings I found another link that took me to  The Emerald Owl and a post for a Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese. I had to try […]

  4. I did like it! But I used all he jalapenos on my son’s sandwich. I put tomatoes on mine & it was very tasty, but not the popper heat I was thinking of.
    I posted it, with a link to yours, a few minutes ago. I think I’m going to be playing with this idea for awhile. We also like jalapenos stuffed with shrimp & cream cheese, wrapped with bacon, so shrimp may find a way to wiggle into this sandwich before long.
    Thanks for the tasty suggestion!
    And when I’m not so sleepy I’ll figure out how to put the ˜ over the “n” in jalapeno.
    Thanks!
    Jan
    http://larrupin.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

