emeraldowl

Yarn Wreath

In Crafts, Uncategorized on March 21, 2011 at 6:20 pm

I was browsing Etsy the other night, as I often do – so fantastic, and I came across a yarn wreath.  I was immediately smitten.  It was the perfect craft too since I just inherited a giant bag of miscellaneous yarn. I googled.  Google is another love of mine 🙂 and it lead me to this tutorial …off I went.

Supplies:
Straw Wreath (Craft Store – $3.50)
Felt x3 sheets (less than $1)
Yarn (free… and in abundance)
Glue gun
Scissors

Directions: (Follow tutorial above) or in short – Tie yarn off around wreath and begin wrapping, this takes time… elbow grease and if your yarn breaks more knots.  I used A skein of Red Heart and had no such breakage.  Upon completion of wrapping, tie another knot and snip loose ends. I covered this area of the wreath with my adornments.

To prepare felt flowers cut a small or large circle from felt and then cut the circle down into a spiral for twisting – there are pictures of this process on the tutorial link – Thanks Danielle you rock!! Twist the cut ribbons of felt into rose-like flowers and fasten the bottom with hot glue. Once you have created your desired assortment and figured out the preferred arrangement; secure flowers to wreath with hot glue as well. Ta Da – one unique piece of door art done!

This was a fun and easy craft (plus I made this for $5 – seriously!!).  There are really so many options – I went plain and simple for my first wreath and think it will be a good gift!  I have so many plans though; they involve ribbons, buttons, crochet, poms and maybe even a small cat… that is how carried away I am with these wreaths.  Plus it is going to be a great outlet for this surplus yarn! Happy crafting – Emerald

P.S. March in National Craft Month – what are you making? Right now my other pending projects include: sewing an iPad cover, making a shag rug, crocheting my first afghan and yes I confess making more yarn wreaths. 😀

  1. This is terribly cute. If I get some energy back I will make something for craft month. Until then, I’ll stick to making a baby for craft month. Kinda takes a lot out of me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

