emeraldowl

Weekly Boozer: Irish Fail

In Uncategorized, Weekly Boozer on March 12, 2011 at 10:45 am

I really REALLY wanted to do a green cocktail.  It was my bright idea… since St. Patrick’s Day is next week and well not everyone is a fan of the green beer.  Personally I love beer, but fun green cocktail… how could you go wrong?  Well I started with what is green? Well Green Creme de Menthe (CDM) was the first thing that came to mind.  I should have dug deeper. Creme de Menthe is just apparently not my thing. I should have done melon… or used green dye.  In fact, take last week’s post and add green dye – ta da amazing!

I tried three cocktail recipes: 1) with one jigger gin, 1 jigger heavy cream (two things I love) and then one pony CDM; 2) Irish Pride: 3 ounces Amaretto, 2 ounces Lemon Juice (two things I love) and then 3 ounces of CDM; and since neither of those was consumable I went simple with 3) 1 part CDM to 3 parts Club Soda or otherwise known as a Cold Shower.  There are no words for #1…. it was just wrong.  #2 was well like super-powered mouthwash… my life will never be the same. Also pretty sure I’d rather drink actual mouthwash.  #3 sounded good! Refreshing and light.  Good plan too, take out the complexity and get a good cocktail – HORRID.  So I have decided either there is no good CDM cocktail, or I don’t know what I am doing wrong, or (and this is the most logical) I just don’t like this stuff.  They were all pretty… does that count? Yeah I didn’t think so either.

Mind that I don’t have any experience with this liqueur and I am blindly pulling recipes that sound palatable from the web.  So if you do like or love this stuff and you know a great way to use it, please PLEASE fill me in because while I bought a small bottle, I still have an abundance of this stuff and I hate to be wasteful.

Anyways things don’t always go as planned, recipes fail, drink green beer it’s full of vitamins*… keeping it real in the Emerald Owl Kitchen.

 

*Okay well maybe no vitamins, but at least it tastes good! P.S. my Dad says keep it real for the holiday and just drink good Irish Whiskey…

  1. Lord, I wish I could drink. All the recipes you tried sound awful. I think the only thing I would like with cdm would be chocolate like a York peppermint patty. St. Peppermint Patty 🙂 if you don’t like it still then we can determine you indeed do not like mint in your drinks:)

    • Yes I was considering burying it in a chocolate shake lol. There are some cocktails too that call for Bailey’s which might be better, unfortunately I didn’t have any on hand. I love mint so much – that is the crazy part!!

Leave a Reply

