emeraldowl

Vietnamese Iced Coffee

In Uncategorized on March 9, 2011 at 10:41 am

Today I needed a special kinda pick me up!  I normally stick with ice water and the occasional hot tea in the morning, but today I started with Vietnamese Iced Coffee – delish.

Now I don’t own a fancy smancy, albeit inexpensive, Vietnamese steel press – so I used my good ol’ french press.  Yes criminal I know, but the coffee police haven’t knocked down my door.  I am sure they are waiting for me to utilize my new doughnut pans…

Vietnamese Iced Coffee

2 spoonfuls of ground Vietnamese Coffee (or espresso, dark roast, etc.)
1 – 2 spoonfuls of sweetened condensed milk (to taste – and NO substitutions!!)
3/4 cup hot water
Ice

Directions: Heat water for press, to almost boiling; grind coffee beans (medium grind) and place grounds and then hot water in press, replace lid, but do not plunge and allow coffee to steep 2-4 minutes.  Meanwhile, pour sweetened condensed milk into bottom of glass.  Once coffee is ready, gently and slowly plunge press, wait 30 seconds after plunging for additional sediment to settle; pour hot coffee into glass.  Stir contents to combine – the coffee will turn a lovely mocha color.  Top the glass off with ice and enjoy!  (If you are not in possession of either kind of coffee press just brew a strong cup of joe in your coffee maker.)

* Note: Vietnamese coffee contains chicory, so if you are going for a more authentic taste use Trung Nguyen or Cafe du Monde.

One = great morning; Two = a destroyed to do list; Three = well I will keep you posted…

  1. […] Vietnamese Iced Coffee (emeraldowl.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Love this stuff. I wonder how it would be using just espresso powder? We first had this stuff at Siagon last year sometime and it was such a strong kick that we were hyper for hours. It’s also so rich there that we’ve stuck to sharing one instead of making the mistake of trying to down one each. They make it thick thick thick there and I wish I knew their exact recipe. Although, it’s probably just extra sweetened condensed milk. 🙂

Leave a Reply

