emeraldowl

Weekly Boozer/Cupboard Keeper: Gin & Tonic

In Cupboard Keepers, Uncategorized, Weekly Boozer on March 5, 2011 at 7:04 pm

Gin is by far not the most popular of libations on the market.  If you are not a fan, by all means disregard the recipe, but not the tonic water.  I personally love gin – especially the smell (no I didn’t eat glue as a child, why do you ask?).  A good Gin & Tonic is one of my favorite cocktails.  Not only is it delicious, but it only has three ingredients and is incredibly simple to make.

Gin is liquor prominently flavored by juniper berries; however, depending on the brand or type of gin you purchase it could be accented by lemon, orange, anise, cinnamon, lime, coriander, or any other variation of spices.  Choosing a gin which you like is essential – after all there are only three ingredients at work here and that makes them all very important.  I am currently drinking Bombay Sapphire, but also enjoy Tanqueray (which is called a “T & T”) and Hendrick’s Gin.

Ingredient #2 brings me to the Cupboard Keeper side of things:

Tonic Water.  It is a carbonated soft drink in which quinine and sugar is dissolved, and is consumed for its distinctively bitter taste.  My favorite is Q Tonic, since we moved I can not purchase it locally, and so stock up when I see it.  This is my second choice (Fever Tree – which has lots of awesome products!!!)  and I am sure there are other great tonics out there… but having a good quality tonic can take this cocktail from being mediocre to fabulous – as well as other beverages which call for the ingredient.  That is why for me it is a cupboard keeper! Especially for the liquor cabinet… if you have it on hand you can serve up a classy cocktail for guests in no time!

 

Gin & Tonic:

Depending on your preferences this drink can be made in ratio of 1:1, 1:2, 1:3, or 2:3
2 ounces Gin
4 ounces Tonic
about 1 Tbsp fresh lime juice (lime wedge to garnish if desired)
and ice

Directions: Place the ice cubes in a glass with the ice coming near the top. Squeeze in fresh lime juice, followed by gin and top with tonic water. Stir well; Garnish with lime wedge, and serve immediately.

Sure it’s not the fanciest cocktail you’ll ever make, but it is: quick, easy, and delicious.  So why complicate things? Here’s hoping there is Gin & Tonic in your future – or at least some good quality tonic water 😉

  1. Shut up with this post. Shut it! That is the exact tonic we’ve been using for a year and gin is my fav. AND I’ve wanted one SO bad today for some reason. And then I got really sad knowing that I”ll have to spend an ENTIRE SUMMER without a gin and tonic or a mojito. 😦

  2. Aww friend – just think in about 6-7 months it will be like drinking again for the first time! Plus little chef is totally worth it 😉 but, honestly you were the first person I thought of since we usually end up drinking them together!

  3. Sigh…I ❤ gin and tonic. 🙂 True, little chef is worth it. I'm thinking when he/she is born, I want to have one last summer party while it's still warm! Good food, good drinks and a viewing party for the kid 🙂 I'll pump and dump, of course 😉

Leave a Reply

