emeraldowl

Loot: Spicy Apricot Loaf

In Baking, Loot, Uncategorized on February 23, 2011 at 9:41 pm

I am sure the readers of this blog will tire of my exploits with my friend Alisa’s jams, preserves and foodie type gifts.  Alas, that is what my loot posts are about! Wonderful gifts that inspire me in the kitchen and her Angry Apricot Preserves were the muse for this bread. (Thanks AJ – as always you rock my socks off ).  These preserves are delicious and if you want to substitute for regular preserves that would be fine, if you want them to be angry… crank up the heat with some crushed red pepper!! Other options for this bread would be any jam or marmalade which you love – orange marmalade would be lovely!  (Same goes for dried cranberries… feel free to use raisins, sultanas, currants or even dates!… or add nuts with the dry ingredients…)

Spicy Apricot Loaf

Ingredients:

1 cup sugar
1 cup milk
1/2 cup craisins (dried cranberries)
1/2 cup Preserves, chopped (or jam, marmalade… etc)
1 stick of butter
2 cups self-rising flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp Jamaican allspice (or pumpkin pie spice)
pinch of coarse salt
1 large egg, beaten

Directions: In a medium saucepan over medium heat, bring the sugar, milk, raisins, preserves (chopped down smaller or roughly processed in food chopper), and butter; stir well and bring to a boil.  Remove from heat and let cool completely.  (so weird, but the concoction smelt amazing and looked like creepy porridge!)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line a 9 inch loaf pan with wax paper or grease and lightly flour.

Stir the flour, baking soda, allspice, salt, and egg into the wet ingredients with a wooden spoon.  Transfer the batter to the prepared pan and bake for approximately 50 – 60 minutes, or until top is golden.  (Can test the middle of loaf with a toothpick to ensure doneness… if it does not come out clean continue to cook the loaf.)

Remove from the oven; let cool for 10 minutes on a wire rack; once it has cooled cut slices and serve; or wrap up to give… eat – that is what I do… eat and it’s the best part!

Apparently I have had a tea time thing going as of late (and for the Palmer Family this week!).  This bread does not fall short of that category and would make a lovely gift.  This is the first time I have used this method where you cook the wet ingredients and then cool before assembling – very interesting and I am sure it will inspire further exploration of ingredients, combinations and other random ideas. As for the taste: I adore the spiciness from both the allspice and the Angry Apricot Preserves, the bread is dense and has sweet surprises with the bits of cranberry and apricot, it was great with hot tea!! As always AJ, love ya and your mad jammin’ skills 😀

  1. I love your use of my gifts! I’m glad you actually use and enjoy them and then tell me about it! I actually haven’t eaten any of the Angry Apricot yet myself. Don’t know what I’m waiting for. Maybe just sad to see them all go in fear that my tree won’t produce this year!

  2. That would be tragic friend! I think you should sell it at the Farmers Market alongside Matt’s bread! So good 😀 – Fingers crossed for a better harvest this year!!

Leave a Reply

