emeraldowl

Black Pepper Parmesan Bread

In Baking, Uncategorized on January 31, 2011 at 10:21 pm

Today was the last day of National Bread Machine Month. Apparently regular National Bread Month is November.  I don’t know why,  but the internet says it is so and I believe it.  I own a bread machine.  Most people don’t know that, but I received it as a wedding present and in last two plus years I have used it three times.  Guess I am a bit of a traditionalist. Also, I don’t like to clean equipment or utensils unless I REALLY need them, so maybe it is kinda a lazy thing too? Though I have to admit letting a bread machine make your dough – very rewarding!

I did such a thing this last Friday with this bread.  I let the machine do the hard work and then I removed the dough to rise and bake.  It was nice and worth the cleanup as I made the Bacon & Onion Scones during the “down time”.

Black Pepper Parmesan Bread:

1 cup warm water
3 Tbsp olive oil
1 tsp salt
3 cups bread flour
1/2 heaping cup of grated parmesan cheese
1 Tbsp freshly ground pepper
2 1/4 tsp yeast, active dry
Egg Wash
1 egg
1 Tbsp water
additional freshly ground pepper for dusting loaf

 

Directions: Place ingredients, in this order, into the bread pan fitted with the kneading paddle.  Bread machine settings should be as follows: medium loaf; French/Italian style loaf; medium crust.  Once you have selected your setting press the Start button.  You can let the bread machine do the whole kit and kaboodle; however, I hate the squat loaf shape of the bread machine pan and like the liberty to egg wash my bread.  You can even let the machine knead and rise the bread and remove before the baking cycle…If you choose to do so continue below:

Option One: (Rise bread out of machine) Lightly oil (olive oil) a large bowl; remove bread dough and place in bowl covered with a tea towel to rise (in a warm place – I always put mine on the dryer and load it up)  Let the dough rise for 45 minutes to an hour and half, or until doubled in size; punch the dough down and knead on a lightly floured surface; repeat rise.

Option Two: (Bake bread out of machine) Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  You can now use a loaf pan, shape the dough and cook on a cookie sheet, or make a round loaf in a round cake pan.  Whatever you choose either lightly grease the bake-ware and dust with cornmeal before placing the bread.  I folded the dough into a rounded shape and placed on a cookie sheet, crease down.  You can dress the bread up even more by making a few slashes with a very sharp knife, by making diagonal cuts about 1/4 inch deep across top of the loaf.  Prepare egg wash by beating egg and water together and brush loaf; bake for 20 – 25 minutes.  Remove loaf and brush with egg wash a second time; grind fresh pepper over the second egg wash so it will adhere to the loaf; bake an additional 15 – 20 minutes until the bread tests done.  Remove and allow to cool on a wire rack before slicing (hot bread is much harder to cut!).


Review: I made this bread on Friday – it is Monday and there is no bread.  Kinda speaks for itself. Let me see just plain this bread is light, tender, and has a very subtle cheese and pepper flavor, but toasted… OH My toasted this bread takes on this amazing deep cheese flavor and hearty crustiness that is irresistible.  This bread would make show stopping croutons for a salad.  At least I thought so, but this loaf didn’t survive long enough to test.  Actually I don’t think anything happened to this bread beyond toasting and a smear of butter and it was a good thing 🙂

P.S. When I made this bread I had no intention of posting or sharing. I was just using up some parmesan cheese I had leftover and alleviating the stress of breakfast for company, but it was too delicious not to share!!

  1. This bread was awesome!!!! I love trying at your house this last weekend. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

Leave a Reply

