emeraldowl

Mint Chocolate Meringues

In Baking, Uncategorized on January 26, 2011 at 8:03 pm

So it’s been a long week – my foot hurts, and things have just been crazy, especially today.  I volunteered to babysit and it turned into a seven hour gig.  I have to get up at 5 a.m. tomorrow and drive to Dallas – woe is me.  I deserve cookies right? Well these are my excuses and I believe they justify the consumption of cookies.

Mint Chocolate Meringues

2 egg whites
1/4 tsp cream of tartar
3/4 cup sugar
1/8 tsp vanilla extract
2 to 6 drops of green food coloring, optional
1 package of mint chocolate chips, (10 ounces)
– I used Nestle Toll House Dark Chocolate & Mint Morsels

Directions: Preheat oven to 250 degrees.  Line baking sheet with parchment paper (if you don’t have any then grease the cookie sheet lightly); set aside.  In a large bowl, beat egg whites until foamy.  Add cream of tartar and beat until soft peaks form.  Next add the sugar, 1 Tbsp at a time while beating, until stiff peaks form.  Now mix in vanilla and food coloring if you so desire.  I used 4 drops for a lovely pale mint green.  Fold the package of morsels into the fluffy batter.

Drop rounded Tbsp onto prepared cookie sheet (I used my cookie scoop and it made the meringues look like cute scoops of ice cream), leaving about 2 inches of space between each; bake for 30-35 minutes or until dry to the touch.  Remove and transfer to wire racks for cooling. Store in an airtight container. Makes 30 cookies.

These cookies are light, fluffy, crunchy and oh so minty.  I would say like dehydrated mint chocolate ice cream, but I don’t like “astronaut’s ice cream” and this I love.  These cookies are very nice treat after a long day and I plugged the recipe into a nutrition website and they are approx: 95 cal and 4.8g fat per cookie.  My house smells insanely delicious and now I am plotting making a fruitless spin on Eton’s mess – let you know how that goes.  Hope you enjoy and that you are having a better week than me!

Leave a Reply

