emeraldowl

Weekly Boozer: Hard Apple Cider

In Uncategorized, Weekly Boozer on January 22, 2011 at 8:02 pm

Crispin Natural Hard Apple Cider The Saint Artisanal Reserve

Hard Apple Cider is a fermented beverage made from apple juice.  This is the second time I have consumed hard apple cider.  The first was Crispin’s Crisp (from “blue line”) which can literally be summed up in three words “apple jolly rancher” it was actually an article reviewing it as akin to the candy which lead me to sample.  It was dry, but in a pleasing fashion.  This cider was not as dry or tart, it was sweeter and smoother.  The Saint is fermented with Belgian trappist yeast, organic maple syrup and apple wine.  It was almost like non-alcoholic sparkling apple cider with the underlying kick you expect from an alcoholic libation.  I would say though, it has more apple and less sparkle than the non-alcoholic bubbly stuff you see around the holidays.  It also has a nice round sweetness, probably from the maple syrup used in the fermenting process.  This is a cloudy filtration beverage so if residue and sediment in your drink is a turn off you may want to steer clear – as for me I say tilt and swirl to dispense the flavor and enjoy.  I love the natural look of this product… makes it feel homemade and according to their website it helps the cider to remain true its rich full-bodied flavor.

Something else I discovered on their website was a Honey Crisp Cider and given the chance I will definitely pick this up .  While my apple cider experience is limited, I found both beverages to be a fun and tasty exploration of this alcohol.  Given the chance to purchase again I would drink the Crispin Crisp from their blue line over The Saint, but it was just so richly unique and I have a thing for super tart products.  Both are wonderful, especially if you are an apple beverage fan.  Merry drinking!

Leave a Reply

