emeraldowl

Snaps: January Edition

In Personal, Photography, Uncategorized on January 20, 2011 at 5:30 pm

My goal this year is to take over 10,000 pictures .  For some that may not sound like a lot, but I’m a home photographer and that means about 834 pictures a month.  When you take in account that I don’t have children and taking pictures is not my job… that is a “couple” pictures…

What inspired this goal? A quote actually from the phenomenal photographer Henri Cartier-Bresson, “Your first ten thousand pictures are your worst.”  Not that I am expecting something magically to happen at 10,001, but practice is the idea here.  I love to practice … I love to take pictures… I wish I had a part-time job taking pictures… I might even work for free – love it that much 🙂

Last week I got an opportunity to shoot musicians, which is one of my favorite subjects.  So much movement, sometimes intensity and sometimes pure fun.  Here are a few of my favorites from the night:

Love the focus..(him not the camera)

This kid is so truly talented – it was a pleasure to watch him perform.

 

This guy was in his own world with his music – love that!

 

 

 

 

Love the shirt…

Love the joy…

The more I learn about photography and the more pictures I take the more it consumes me.  I am excited about what is to come, even though I have no idea what that will be.  As always, thanks for stopping by and letting me share. 😀

  1. A good goal, I think! You’ll find before the 10,000th, that you will get so good. It’s all about finding the light source in the room and using it creatively! I wonder how many pics I’ve taken since 2008?

Leave a Reply

