emeraldowl

Cupboard Keepers: Potato Starch

In Baking, Cooking, Cupboard Keepers, Uncategorized on January 10, 2011 at 8:59 pm

Corn starch is generally more popular in homes, it is easier to find, more widely known and well basically serves the same function for most cooks (thicken sauces, soups, and etc.).  Why potato starch then?

Well the top reasons, for me, are potato starch can tolerate much higher temperatures and doesn’t clump up like corn starch.  In my experience it has a more neutral flavor, sauces thickened with potato starch re-heat better (consistency wise), and if used in a batter it fries better than cornstarch.  This is the south…. frying is important! 🙂  Potato starch is also called for in some baked goods to add moistness.  I guess for me it is simply easier to have the one that does more. So far this has been a superior starch in my kitchen and I like to always keep some in the cupboard.  If you haven’t tried it before I hope you do.

P.S. if you don’t see potato starch near the corn starch, check with the specialty flours.

  1. Very interesting! I will try it.

  2. Hmmm, I have been wanting to try some of this! You can just come and make us something with it! Yes? Yes Ok 🙂

Leave a Reply

