emeraldowl

Bean Day!

In Cooking, Uncategorized on January 6, 2011 at 7:03 pm

It’s National Bean Day!!?? Did you know that? I didn’t until I was wondering around the web a few nights ago.  I couldn’t confirm or fathom why January 6th would be the national day of beans, but I fixed some anyways.  Beans are a great source of protein and fiber, so if you are eating healthy beans are a great choice!

I just threw something together using what I had on hand, but if you used dried beans, increased cooking time of course and added a ham-hock – yum.  This was still good and quick, I let everything simmer while I prepared the rest of my dinner and they were very flavorful.

Navy Beans

1 slice bacon, chopped
1/3 cup chopped onion
2 Tbsp sugar
1 Tbsp water
1 can Navy Beans
1 cup diced tomato and green chile
2 cups chicken stock
1 tsp thyme
1 bay leaf
1/2 Tbsp Worcestershire
salt and pepper to taste

Directions: In a medium saucepan cook bacon over medium heat.  Once bacon is cooked through add onion, sugar and water; cook until caramelized.   Add remaining ingredients and let simmer 10-25 minutes.

Yeah for beans! I love them – my hubby hates them (I am slowly converting him though – he ate some of these!!), but either way today is bean day.

  1. I love bean soup. Where’s the corn bread????

Leave a Reply

