emeraldowl

Weekly Boozer: Anchor 2010 Christmas Ale

In Uncategorized, Weekly Boozer on December 14, 2010 at 12:44 am

For the thirty-sixth year Anchor Brewing Company has brewed a distinctive and unique Christmas Ale, which is available from early November to mid-January.  Every year the recipe, which still remains secret, changes and so does the tree on the label. The lovely label this year is adorned with the Ginkgo biloba tree. I like that it has an old fashioned feel to it, from the colors of the label to the matte paper itself!

As for the brew…well as first glance it’s deep, dark coffee brown with red highlights, under a creamy  golden tan head.  I personally love this beer and will enjoy finishing it myself as I was the only fan out of four in my household!!  I found it to be slightly dry, sweet, with dark caramel, roasted coffee and malt flavors, the spruce aromas add a mild festive spiciness.  There are hints of pine, clove, and toasted nuts.  To me this really felt closer to the flavors of a porter than an ale, but I would buy it again and think this beer would make excellent chili or stew!

Kudos to Matt Palmer for the recommendation! Thanks 🙂

  1. I have only had the 2009 but it’s the best winter/Christmas beer I’ve ever had, I really love it. Shocking that no one else liked it! I finished mine off over the weekend, so maybe I can find a 2010 around here next 😀

    • Man! I just came in to town yesterday – I would have brought you a bottle… we didn’t see anything but 2010! haha I read on their web page about how people set a couple bottles aside every year so they can compare to the next years recipe. I may have to save one for 2011 🙂

Leave a Reply

