emeraldowl

Hot Cross Scones

In Baking, Uncategorized on April 24, 2011 at 8:39 am

Yes. You read that right – Hot Cross Scones. You see I had these ambitious Good Friday plans.  They involved cleaning,  packing for our Easter weekend trip and whipping up Hot Cross Buns.  Things escalated… as they often do and then my plans expanded to getting ready to MOVE! Yes move. Not streets, not across town, not another beautiful Texas city – MOVE STATES! It’s crazy. CRAZY! Meanwhile, at the end of our lil’ Easter jaunt my husband will leave to go work in said state.  So I improvised, cut corners, re-wrote recipes and well I saved time.  I made Hot Cross Scones.

I arrived at this alteration because, I have a thing for scones.  As you may have noticed by my previous posts. I have a thing for tea rooms. Tea sandwiches. I have a lot of things. It happens. My things make me happy, as do these scones!

Hot Cross Scones

1 pkg yeast
2 tbsp lukewarm water
1 cup shortening (we actually used 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup Smart Balance)
5 cups flour
3 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
4 tbsp sugar
1 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp ground allspice
1 tsp ground nutmeg
2 cups buttermilk
3/4 cup currants
1 egg yolk
1 Tbsp water

Directions:  Preheat oven to 400.  In a small cup, dissolve yeast in water.  In a separate bowl, whisk/sift together dry ingredients (flour through buttermilk).  Cut shortening into dry ingredients.  Blend together yeast, buttermilk, dry/shortening mix and currants until sticky.  Gather dough on floured surface and knead 6-7 times (don’t over work the dough – it will be tough) and set aside aside, covered with a tea towel for 20-30 minutes.  Roll out on floured surface to desired thickness (1/2 – 3/4 inch).  Cut with cookie/biscuit cutters. Whisk together egg yolk and water, to wash tops and sides of scones, before baking.  Bake 12-15 minutes or until golden.

For the glaze crosses I mixed powdered sugar, a dash of milk and vanilla bean paste (one of my favorite things!) until I reached the desired consistency. You may want thinner, less vanilla, or really thick glaze – it’s yours to create.  I drizzled my mixture (1/2 cup powdered sugar, 1 Tbsp half & half and 1 Tbsp vanilla bean paste) in a cross patter across scones.  You could also add some lemon zest instead of vanilla or shoot ice them in buttercream! It’s all good.

Never had a yeasted scone. Have to say pretty darn yummy.  I love the flavors in here – very much like spice bread and they were good without the glaze, but also great with, so the limited amount added by the cross was not an issue. Easter Blessings and happy cooking! EO

  1. LOL That is awesome! I was just commenting to my husband that if I were to make Hot Cross Buns, fresh for Easter morning and still have it done, in time for an early breakfast, I would have to wake up at 4:30 am! What a great idea. I love tea rooms too. My sister took me to our first one and we had just a wonderful time. Happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

