emeraldowl

Crochet: Scarf Chronicles

In Crafts, Crochet, Uncategorized on January 9, 2011 at 8:37 pm

So the past few months my crocheting addiction has been focused on scarves.  First I did some plain… then focused on different yarns…. then patterns and it has evolved to this ruffly scarf and well needless to say lots of people got homemade scarves for Christmas!

This fun wavy scarf was easy to make and when you wrap it around your neck it almost has a Victorian collar feel to it.  Gorgeous!  I used one of my favorite yarns: Lionbrand Homespun (the variegated colors are so fantastic and its forgiving – nice for a beginner!).   I love how this pattern naturally ruffles!

Tools:

One skein of yarn (6 oz) – Homespun is a bulky weight yarn
Crochet Hook Size K
Blunt Needle – for fastening off

Pattern:

Chain 180, leaving a six-inch tail
Row 1: Double crochet in 4th chain from hook, *double crochet in next chain, 2 double crochet in next chain; repeat from * across.
Row 2: Chain 3, turn, double crochet in same space, *double crochet in next 2 double crochet, 2 double crochet in next double crochet; repeat from * across.
Row 3: Chain 3, turn, double crochet in same space, *double crochet in next 3 double crochet, 2 double crochet in next double crochet; repeat from * across.
Fasten off; weave in ends.
  1. I was expecting a scarf! Actually, I forgot you said “a lot of people will be getting them” but now that I remember, I’m wondering where mine is, missy! ;) I love my gift though, don’t take me too seriously :) That scarf is hella cool!

  2. I am so proud of you. Whatever you want to do and set your mind on it – it gets done and done well! This scarf is beautiful. I want one like this too. :)

  3. @Alisa -Haha well you wear so many fashionable scarves I didn’t know if crocheted would be your thing. Shannon is the only non-family member I am currently forcing to adorn my homemade ghettoness – haha. It’s her duty, I’m sure.

    @Terry I am glad you like it – it is yours!! I made it with that yarn you bought (that matches your leather jacket).

  4. I love mine!! Thanks friend!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

